Implementing Entities

Implementing entities are the national, regional and multilateral institutions accredited by the Adaptation Fund Board to receive direct financial transfers from the Fund in order to carry out adaptation projects and programmes.

Parties that are eligible to apply for funding must use either their National Implementing Entity (NIE), or a Regional Implementing Entity (RIE), or a Multilateral Implementing Entity (MIE) to access resources in the Adaptation Fund. In order to become accredited, entities are required to meet the fiduciary standards and to commit to comply with the Environmental and Social Policy and the Gender Policy adopted by the Board as detailed in the Operational Policies and Guidelines and as explained on the accreditation page of the Adaptation Fund website.

As of 8 January, 2024, the Fund had accredited a total of 56 implementing entities comprising of 32 NIEs, 9 RIEs, and 15 MIEs. Of the 32 NIEs, 10 were from Least Developed Countries (LDCs) and seven from Small Islands Developing States (SIDS). In terms of the regional distribution of the 32 NIEs and 9 RIEs, 14 entities were from Africa, 15 from Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC), 11 from Asia-Pacific (APAC) and 1 entity was from Eastern Europe (EE). The figures below provide a summary of the Fund’s Accreditation portfolio:


Accredited Implementing Entities by type

Figure 1. Accredited Implementing Entities by type
(8 January 2024)

Accredited NIEs and RIEs by region

Figure 2. Accredited NIEs and RIEs by region
(8 January 2024)